top of page

Pearson Edexcel ESOL Skills for Life (QCF) 

  • What are Edexcel ESOL Skills for Life (QCF) qualifications? They are Edexcel Entry, Level 1 and Level 2

  • Awards and Certificates in ESOL Skills for Life qualifications are designed for full-time or part-time learners who are adult learners whose native language is not English and who live in the UK. 4

  • They typically include refugees, asylum seekers, those from settled communities and partners or spouses of people settled in the UK.

  • These learners have different language needs arising from their diverse language, educational and professional/employment backgrounds.

  • Some learners may have no previous education or employment; others may be highly educated professionals or speak several languages.

  • Edexcel ESOL Skills for Life (QCF) qualifications give learners some of the knowledge, understanding and skills they need to prepare for life and employment. The qualifications support career development opportunities for those already in work by providing skills such as reading, writing, speaking and listening. 

Pearson is the UK's largest awarding organisation offering academic, vocational and work-based learning qualifications, including BTEC, Edexcel and LCCI.

  • This gives a summary of the assessment methods used in the qualifications.
  • Units Assessment method Reading and Writing units Pearson-devised assessment: paper-based test
  • Speaking and Listening units Pearson-devised assessment: task Pearson-devised assessment
  • To achieve all units, learners must pass a paper-based test (or task for speaking and listening). Pearson sets the unit assessment, tFurther information, including details of test duration and question types, will be available from our website at

TFL English Requirements 

If you have a certificate for a ESOL or English as a Foreign Language (EFL) qualification that proves proficiency in all four skill areas,

  1. Reading

  2. Writing

  3. Speaking and Listening

  • Your level of English may be sufficient.

  • ESOL Skills for Life (Entry Level 3, Level 1, Level 2)

You will be need to provide your original qualification certificate. 

bottom of page